Gluten-free diet - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia


** Gluten-free diet **

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
Further information: The oat controversy and Oat sensitivity

A *gluten-free diet* is a diet that excludes foods containing gluten.
Gluten is a protein complex found in wheat (including kamut and spelt),
barley, rye and triticale. A gluten-free diet is the only medically
accepted treatment for celiac disease.^[1] Being gluten intolerant can
often mean a person may also be wheat intolerant as well as suffer from the
related inflammatory skin condition dermatitis herpetiformis,^[2] There are
a smaller minority of people who suffer from wheat intolerance alone and
are tolerant to gluten.

Despite unknown benefits for the general population, and evidence to
suggest adverse effects,^[3]^[4] a significant demand has developed for
gluten-free food in the United States.^[5]

A gluten-free diet might also exclude oats. Medical practitioners are
divided on whether oats are acceptable to celiac disease sufferers^[6] or
whether they become cross-contaminated in milling facilities by other
grains.^[7] Oats may also be contaminated when grown in rotation with wheat
when wheat seeds from the previous harvest sprout up the next season in the
oat field and are harvested along with the oats.

The term /gluten-free/ generally is used to indicate a supposedly harmless
level of gluten rather than a complete absence.^[8] The exact level at
which gluten is harmless for people with celiac disease is uncertain and
controversial. A 2008 systematic review tentatively concluded that
consumption of less than 10 mg of gluten per day for celiac disease
patients is unlikely to cause histological abnormalities, although it noted
that few reliable studies had been conducted.^[8]

Regulation of the label /gluten-free/ varies widely by country. In the
United States, the FDA issued proposed regulations in 2007


what is gluten free

© 2005-2021