What are User Account Control settings?

--------------------
Windows
Skip to content pane

MEET WINDOWSDOWNLOAD & SHOPHOW-TOSUPPORT

[INPUT][INPUT]
[INPUT]
Sign inSign outSign in

· MEET WINDOWS

· DOWNLOAD & SHOP

· HOW-TO

· SUPPORT

· Installation
· Search & touch
· Personalization
· Security & accounts
· Apps & Windows Store
· Web & networks
· Email & communication
· Music & photos
· Files & online storage
· Repair & recovery
· Drivers
· Performance

Sign inSign outSign in

InstallationSearch & touchPersonalizationSecurity & accountsApps & Windows
StoreWeb & networksEmail & communicationMusic & photosFiles & online
storageRepair & recoveryDriversPerformance
[INPUT][INPUT]



Update to Windows 8.1—it's free. Get it now

Close

Update to Windows 8.1—it's free. Get it now

Close

The information on this page applies to Windows 8.1. Get the free update
now

Close

** What are User Account Control settings? **

*Applies to Windows 7*

User Account Control (UAC) notifies you before changes are made to your
computer that require administrator-level permission. The default UAC
setting notifies you when programs try to make changes to your computer,
but you can change how often UAC notifies you.

The following table provides a description of the UAC settings and the
potential impact of each setting on the security of your computer.

Setting Description Security impact
Setting

Always notify

Description

· You'll be notified before programs make changes to your computer or to
Windows settings that require administrator permissions.

· When you're notified, your desktop will be dimmed, and you must either
approve or deny the request in the UAC dialog box before you can do
anything else on your computer. The dimming of your desktop is referred to
as the secure desktop because other programs can't run while it's dimmed.

Security impact

· This is the most secure setting.

·


Source: windows.microsoft.com/en-za/windows7/what-are-user-account-control-settings

© 2005-2018 HaveYourSay.org