is there gluten in wine | Rachel Begun, MS, RD

--------------------
Home
About Rachel
Services
Blog
Media

** Tag Archives: is there gluten in wine **

*Ask The Gluten Free RD: Is wine gluten free?*

Posted on March 1, 2012 by Rachel Begun

This is a great question. Wine is ineherently gluten free, as it is made
from grapes. However, there are two control points in the winemaking
process where gluten may be introduced, although both seem to be rare
instances in U.S.-made … Continue reading →

Posted in Ask The Gluten Free RD, Celiac Disease, Gluten Free Lifestyle |
Tagged Ask The Gluten Free RD, Dr. Vino, gluten free, Gluten Free Living,
gluten in wine, is there gluten in wine, The Gluten Free RD | 8 Comments

· *About The Gluten Free RD*

As The Gluten Free RD, it is my mission to provide those on a gluten-free
diet with the information and resources they need to strike a balance
between eating gluten-free healthfully and happily.
· Find me on

· tweet
· face
· link
· link
· pintrest

· Subscribe

Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

· Search By Topic

· My Recent Posts

· What to do with Carrots and Carrot Tops this summer
· The Buzz About Protein
· Common Nutrient Deficiencies in Celiac Disease
· Gluten-Free Eats – June 2013
· Gluten Free Camping

· Archives

· July 2013
· June 2013
· May 2013
· April 2013
· March 2013
· February 2013
· January 2013
· December 2012
· November 2012
· October 2012
· September 2012
· August 2012
· July 2012
· June 2012
· May 2012
· April 2012
· March 2012
· February 2012
· January 2012
· December 2011
· November 2011
·


Source: rachelbegun.com/tag/is-there-gluten-in-wine


is there gluten in wine


Is Wine Gluten-Free - Do Experts Consider Wine Gluten-Free

--------------------

1. Health

About.com
Celiac Disease & Gluten Sensitivity

[INPUT]

· Celiac Disease
· Symptoms/Tests
· Gluten-Free Diet
· For GF Kids
·

· Share
·

Free Celiac Disease & Gluten Sensitivity Newsletter![INPUT]

*Discuss* in my forum

** Is wine gluten-free? **

By Jane Anderson, About.com Guide

Updated March 12, 2011

About.com Health's Disease and Condition content is reviewed by the Medical
Review Board

*Question: *Is wine gluten-free?
*Answer: *

In almost every case, wine is gluten-free to 20 parts per million. However,
there are a few exceptions to this rule.

If the wine in question has any added coloring or flavoring (fruit-flavored
dessert wines, for example, often include added ingredients), then it might
not be gluten-free — you'll need to contact the manufacturer to make sure.

If you're extremely sensitive to gluten cross-contamination, you may find
yourself reacting to certain wines — even wines without additives. You're
not imagining your symptoms — there are a couple of other ways gluten can
sneak into wine.

In some cases, the culprit will be the use of wheat gluten as a fining, or
clarifying, agent for the wine. In other cases, the culprit will be the
wheat paste used to seal the wooden wine casks used to age the wine.

Both of these practices add a tiny amount of gluten to the finished wine —
perhaps in the range of 1 to 2 parts per million. Most people won't notice
symptoms from this, but the most sensitive will.

If you do notice symptoms from wine, you can consider looking for varieties
that are aged in stainless steel casks. You may also need to contact
individual vineyards to see what fining agents they use.

If you find a wine you


Source: celiacdisease.about.com/od/glutenfreefoodshoppin1/f/Is-Wine-Gluten-Free.htm

© 2005-2018 HaveYourSay.org