The Oat Conundrum: Are Oats Gluten-Free? | The Kitchn

--------------------

· Main
· Recipes
· Advice
· Supplies
· Kitchens
· Drinks
· Gatherings

· Apartment Therapy
· Login

** The Oat Conundrum: /Are Oats Gluten-Free?/ **

2011-01-18-Oats.jpgMany of the gluten-free recipes we have here at The
Kitchn contain oats. We rely quite a lot, in fact, on oats and oat flour
when cooking for friends who are gluten-intolerant. But, as you may have
noticed, there is some question about oats and whether they are actually
safe for gluten-intolerant folks.

So here's the big question: Are oats truly gluten-free? Read on for the
answer.

The short answer is *YES* — non-contaminated, pure oats are gluten-free.
They are safe for most people with gluten-intolerance.

The main problem with oats in gluten-free eating is *contamination*. Most
commercial oats are processed in facilities that also process wheat,
barley, and rye. The gluten in these ingredients can contaminate oats, and
the nature of most gluten intolerances is that even a trace amount of
gluten can cause severe discomfort. So that box of Quaker Oats? Probably
not gluten-free.

Contamination can also happen in the field, when oats are grown
side-by-side with fields of wheat. And contamination can vary widely
between batches of processed oats — even oats grown and processed in the
same place. So one box of conventional oats may be OK for one
gluten-intolerant person, but then the next box might give them a terrible
reaction. It's best to completely avoid conventionally grown and processed
oats when cooking for a gluten-free friend.

However, gluten-free oats are widely available, and they are among the
least expensive gluten-free grains and ingredients. Personally I love using
gluten-free oats in recipes; they are a familiar ingredient, when compared
to the potato starch and xanthan gum


Source: www.thekitchn.com/the-oat-conundrum-are-oats-glu-137074


is there gluten in oats


Is Oatmeal Gluten-Free - Does Oatmeal Contain Gluten

--------------------

1. Health

About.com
Celiac Disease & Gluten Sensitivity

[INPUT]

· Celiac Disease
· Symptoms/Tests
· Gluten-Free Diet
· For GF Kids
·

· Share
·

Free Celiac Disease & Gluten Sensitivity Newsletter![INPUT]

*Discuss* in my forum

** Is oatmeal gluten-free, or does it contain gluten? **

By Jane Anderson, About.com Guide

Updated March 13, 2013

About.com Health's Disease and Condition content is reviewed by the Medical
Review Board

"Is oatmeal gluten-free, or does it contain gluten?" Getty
Images/DreamPictures
*Question: *Is oatmeal gluten-free, or does it contain gluten?
*Answer: *

Pure oatmeal does not contain gluten. However, most oatmeal brands on the
market today are not pure — they contain oats that have been
cross-contaminated with a tiny bit of wheat, barley and/or rye. Since those
grains /do/ have gluten in them, that cross-contamination makes most
oatmeal brands unsafe on the gluten-free diet.

For example, Quaker Oats states on its website that it cannot guarantee its
oatmeal is gluten-free.

It's possible to grow pure oats, and companies selling certified
gluten-free oatmeal are using oats that do not have any gluten
cross-contamination. Those should be safe for the majority of people with
celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

· For more on this, see: I can't eat gluten. Should I try oats?

-So Which Brands Are Safe?-

Fortunately for those who can tolerate oats, there are a variety of
different gluten-free-certified oatmeals on the market:

*• Bob's Red Mill* produces three different types of gluten-free oatmeal,
including quick-cooking oats, rolled oats and steel-cut oats. Bob's tests
for gluten down to 20 parts per million. Make sure you purchase only
gluten-free labeled oatmeal — Bob's has several that are /not/
gluten-free.

*• GF Harvest* is a celiac family-owned


Source: celiacdisease.about.com/od/glutenfreegrains/f/Is-Oatmeal-Gluten-Free.htm

© 2005-2018 HaveYourSay.org