Is Oatmeal Gluten-Free - Does Oatmeal Contain Gluten

--------------------

1. Health

About.com
Celiac Disease & Gluten Sensitivity

[INPUT]

· Celiac Disease
· Symptoms/Tests
· Gluten-Free Diet
· For GF Kids
·

· Share
·

Free Celiac Disease & Gluten Sensitivity Newsletter![INPUT]

*Discuss* in my forum

** Is oatmeal gluten-free, or does it contain gluten? **

By Jane Anderson, About.com Guide

Updated March 13, 2013

About.com Health's Disease and Condition content is reviewed by the Medical
Review Board

"Is oatmeal gluten-free, or does it contain gluten?" Getty
Images/DreamPictures
*Question: *Is oatmeal gluten-free, or does it contain gluten?
*Answer: *

Pure oatmeal does not contain gluten. However, most oatmeal brands on the
market today are not pure — they contain oats that have been
cross-contaminated with a tiny bit of wheat, barley and/or rye. Since those
grains /do/ have gluten in them, that cross-contamination makes most
oatmeal brands unsafe on the gluten-free diet.

For example, Quaker Oats states on its website that it cannot guarantee its
oatmeal is gluten-free.

It's possible to grow pure oats, and companies selling certified
gluten-free oatmeal are using oats that do not have any gluten
cross-contamination. Those should be safe for the majority of people with
celiac disease and non-celiac gluten sensitivity.

· For more on this, see: I can't eat gluten. Should I try oats?

-So Which Brands Are Safe?-

Fortunately for those who can tolerate oats, there are a variety of
different gluten-free-certified oatmeals on the market:

*• Bob's Red Mill* produces three different types of gluten-free oatmeal,
including quick-cooking oats, rolled oats and steel-cut oats. Bob's tests
for gluten down to 20 parts per million. Make sure you purchase only
gluten-free labeled oatmeal — Bob's has several that are /not/
gluten-free.

*• GF Harvest* is a celiac family-owned


Source: celiacdisease.about.com/od/glutenfreegrains/f/Is-Oatmeal-Gluten-Free.htm


is there gluten in oatmeal

© 2005-2018 HaveYourSay.org