Can Gluten-Intolerant People Drink Beer? | Healthy Eating | SF Gate

--------------------
Skip to main content.
SFGate

sfgate.com Web Search by YAHOO! Businesses

· Home
· News
· Sports
· Business
· Entertainment
· Food
· Living
· Travel
· Blogs
· Shopping

· Index ▼

· Cars
· Jobs
· Real Estate

Close [X]
Quick links to the best of SFGate | Still can't find it? see Site Index
News »
Today

· Breaking News
· Live Views
· Traffic
· Weather

Sections

· Bay Area & State
· Business
· Chronicle Magazine
· Crime
· Education
· Green
· Health & Medicine
· Home Guides
· Nation
· Obituaries
· Opinion
· Politics
· Science
· Technology
· Weird News
· World

Sports »

· 49ers
· Raiders
· Giants
· Athletics
· Warriors
· Sharks

More

· BayList
· Blogs
· Columnists
· Comics
· Earthquakes
· Lottery
· Maps
· Polls
· Promotions
· Reader Views

Features
Food »

· Bargain Bites
· Healthy Eating
· Inside Scoop
· Recipes
· Restaurants
· Top 100 Restaurants
· Wine

Travel »

· Hawaii
· Mexico
· Monterey & Carmel
· Reno & Tahoe
· SF Guide
· Weekend Getaways
· Wine Country

Living »

· Garden
· Green
· Home & Design
· LGBT
· Moms
· Outdoors
· Pets
· Ski & Snow
· Style

Entertainment »

· Art
· Books
· Horoscope
· Live Music
· Local Events
· Movie Showtimes
· Movies
· Puzzles
· Theater Reviews
· Things To Do
· TV & Radio

Classifieds »

· Advertise With Us
· Cars
· Coupons
· Real Estate
· Jobs
· Merchandise
· Pets
· Public Notices
· Rentals

·  

· Bay Area & State
· Nation
· World
· Politics
·


Source: healthyeating.sfgate.com/can-glutenintolerant-people-drink-beer-5240.html


does beer have gluten


Gluten-free beer - Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia

--------------------

** Gluten-free beer **

From Wikipedia, the free encyclopedia
Jump to: navigation, search
gluten-free beer

*Gluten-free beer* is beer made from ingredients that do not contain
glycoproteins (gluten). People who have gluten intolerance (including
celiac disease and dermatitis herpetiformis sufferers) have a reaction to
certain proteins in the grains commonly used to make beer, barley and
wheat. The hordein found in barley and the gliadin found in wheat are types
of gluten that can trigger symptoms in sufferers of these diseases.
Gluten-free beer is part of a gluten-free diet.

*Contents*

· 1 Gluten and gluten intolerance
· 2 Gluten-free standards
· 3 Gluten-free beer, low-gluten beer, and standard beer
· 4 Home brewing
· 5 Gluten-free beer festivals
· 6 See also
· 7 References
· 8 External links

*Gluten and gluten intolerance[edit]*

Main article: Gluten sensitivity

Gluten can be found in many common cereal grains including barley and
wheat. Even in small quantities, the glutens specifically from barley and
wheat (hordein and gliadin respectively) can trigger serious symptoms in
those who suffer from Celiac disease. Almost all beer contains levels of
gluten that cannot be tolerated by the celiac,^[/citation needed/] but a
growing number of breweries now cater to celiacs or those who otherwise
cannot tolerate the consumption of one or other of the relevant
glycoproteins.

*Gluten-free standards[edit]*

Main article: Gluten-free diet

Around the world standards of "gluten free" vary. For example, in the
European Union a beer with less than 20 parts per million gluten (20ppm) is
"gluten free", while in Australia only beers with no detectable gluten can
be described as gluten free. Similarly, some "gluten-free" breads can
contain low levels of gluten in one country, in another they would
contravene labelling or food standards legislation.

While the


Source: en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gluten-free_beer

© 2005-2018 HaveYourSay.org