Do keyrunes have summoning sickness when they are changed to a creature?

— MTG Q&A
--------------------

[INPUT] T/O

· Deck Builder
· MTG Cards
· Events
· Draft Sim
· Cubes
· Forums
· MTG Q&A
· Articles

·

· Card search
· Deck search

· login
· sign-up

MTG Deck Builder

** Do keyrunes have summoning sickness when they are changed to a creature?
**

Asked by amokery 1 year ago

If the keyrune has been out for more than one round can it be converted
into a creature and used as an attacker on your round? What if it was just
played onto the battlefield?

meecht says... #1

As a creature, it cannot attack in the same turn it was cast.

As an artifact, it can be tapped for mana in the same turn it was played.

October 25, 2012 3:01 p.m.

Rhadamanthus says... Accepted answer #2

When a non-creature becomes a creature, it follows all the usual rules for
creatures. What matters is whether you've controlled it continuously since
the beginning of your most recent turn (including the current one). Waking
up a Keyrune doesn't cause it to leave your control or become a new object,
so as long as it's been on the battlefield long enough, you're fine.

October 25, 2012 3:01 p.m.

Epochalyptik says... #3

Just a note: if you animate a Keyrune and it still has summoning sickness,
you won't be able to tap it for mana.

October 25, 2012 3:12 p.m.

Denial48 says... #4

I knew it! Me and a friend were arguing about this when the new sets came
out, I said they could attack, they said they couldn't.

October 25, 2012 4:09 p.m.

meecht says... #5

If it had summoning sickness when it was transformed, then the


Source: tappedout.net/mtg-questions/do-keyrunes-have-summoning-sickness-when-they-are-changed-to-a-creature/

© 2005-2018 HaveYourSay.org